So, I’m gonna be posting random scenes that I write sometimes, just for something different. Taylor is a character I write a lot. She is my slightly unstable alter ego.

Please excuse the poor structure of the scene. I haven’t figured out how to transfer my Final Draft documents correctly into the blog format.

INT. CAFE STELLA, SILVERLAKE
We see Taylor and Blake settling into their table for a first date.

BLAKE
You look pretty by the way, I didn’t say that yet.

TAYLOR
Thanks, that’s sweet. I like your shirt.

He looks down at his shirt like he doesn’t remember which one
he’s wearing.

BLAKE
Oh, thanks.

The waitress comes and hands them menu’s. She’s very attractive.

WAITRESS
Can I get you drinks?

TAYLOR
Yeah, I’ll have a vodka tonic please.

BLAKE
I’ll get an old fashion. Like Don Draper.

The waitress leaves.

TAYLOR
Whoa, could she be any prettier? Our waitress
is like a super model.

BLAKE
Really? I didn’t notice.

She laughs in appreciation of his effort.

TAYLOR
That’s cute, but you don’t have to pretend like you didn’t notice her.
She’s hot. It’s okay, I can appreciate that.

BLAKE
Uhh, really? That’s not, like, rude?

TAYLOR
Not at all! I know she’s probably not as fun to have dinner with as
me, so I’m not too worried.

BLAKE
Okay, yeah.. she’s pretty hot.

We see the slightest annoyance in Taylor’s smile now. He notices it too, but tries to ignore it.

BLAKE (CONT’D)
Ya know, you’re a really cool chick.

TAYLOR
I guess so. I’m pretty mellow.

BLAKE
Have you always been this cool, or are you secretly crazy like every
other chick?

CUT TO:
Taylor goes through flashbacks. Highlights of some of her crazier moments…

INT. TAYLOR’S HIGH SCHOOL BEDROOM

TAYLOR
Who the FUCK is Jenny?! Huh? Wanna tell me who this bitch is???

She’s holding some dude’s cell phone hostage. He is grungy, sweet and confused.

TAYLOR (CONT’D)
I am going to count to THREE and you better have a good answer when
I get to it!

DUDE
Uhhh, she’s an ex girlfriend. But I don’t ever talk to her. There’s no
way you found texts in there to her.

TAYLOR
No, you’re right, I didn’t find any texts or calls, but the fact that this bitch
is still in your phone at all feels FUCKING SHADY!!!!!!!!!!

She throws his phone out the window.

CUT TO:
SECOND FLASHBACK
INT. COLLEGE HOUSE PARTY

Taylor is wasted drunk standing on a table, making out with some guy.
Then some other guy pats her on the shoulder angrily. He can’t get her attention.
So he screams her name.

DUDE#2
Taylor!

She turns around and see’s him. Her top is half off.

DUDE#2 (CONT’D)
What the fuck?!

TAYLOR
Oh. Oops, I totally forgot you were at this party too.

DUDE#2
We came here together!

TAYLOR
Well I’m sorry, stop yelling, it’s not like we’re married. Gawd.

DUDE#2
Nope. And we wont ever be. Give me the ring back.

MAKEOUT DUDE
You’re engaged?!

TAYLOR
Okay, everyone needs to stop being so dramatic.

CUT TO:
THIRD FLASHBACK

INT. NIGHT TIME- SWINGERS DINER
There are booths filled with young hip people eating late night after club meals.
Taylor storms in with a girlfriend in tow. They are in sweatpants and with messy hair.
They head straight to a booth with a couple sitting and sharing french fries and a milkshake.

TAYLOR
Oh, look who we have here!!

DUDE#3
Taylor? Uhh.. What are you doing here?

TAYLOR
Oh, I got a text that you were having a romantic meal with some slut!

DUDE#3
Well, we’ve never said we were exclusive. You always said you were
cool with whatever. Obviously you’re not.

TAYLOR
I lied! So yeah, obviously I am not! Here is the ticket stub from the movie
you took me to! I wont be keeping it in my special box anymore!! It’s OVER.

She throws the ticket at him, which slowly floats in front of them, landing on the table.
Everyone is calm, but Taylor. Even the friend she brought seems a little bored with the confrontation.

TAYLOR (CONT’D)
Your loss! Don’t come begging for
me to come back! I’m out.

And they leave. No one seems to notice.

BACK TO THE CURRENT DATE SCENE.

TAYLOR
Crazy, no.. I’m not crazy. This is me, I’m just cool. I had brothers. It’s like, not
everything has to be so much drama. I hate drama.

BLAKE
Exactly! I wish more girls felt that way.

TAYLOR
Relationships are so hard. Sometimes I just don’t think I even believe
in it all anymore. Marriage and everything. I mean, I don’t have any
friends who are happily married. Maybe it’s just not what we’re all meant for.

BLAKE
Ya know, I think I totally agree. All my friends who are married are
always calling me wanting to live through all the fun stuff I get to
do that they’re wives wont let them do. I don’t want that life. I just
want to be happy.

Taylor looks unhappy.

TAYLOR
Oh. Okay..hmm..

BLAKE
What did I do? I just agreed with you.

TAYLOR
No, totally, I know. But, when I’m cynical about love I need the other
person to tell me all the ways I’m wrong, and how love does really
exist and how we can be happy forever and never stray and be the
only ones who can make it work. I could never be with someone who
feels the same way about it as I do. Because then we’re doomed. Who
keeps us holding on?

BLAKE
I guess I never thought of it that way.

TAYLOR
Yeah, I guess you didn’t.
(beat)
Oh god, I just saw cellulite on the waitresses legs. Guess she’s not as
hot as we thought.

BLAKE
I knew you were annoyed about that!

TAYLOR
Please. I am hardly annoyed. It’s just that after getting a better
look at her, she isn’t that hot. That’s all.

BLAKE
Right. Whatever. Okay so back to the stuff you were saying about
relationships. So you don’t really believe those things. You just say
them so that someone will eventually prove you wrong.

TAYLOR
Yes! Exactly! You understand. You understand me! I just want someone
to tell me I’m selling myself short and they’ll give me that happy
ending. I feel so connected to you now.

BLAKE
Cool, well I don’t. I think you might be crazy, and not in the fun
way. In the migraine way. Here’s twenty bucks for the drinks. I wish
you all the best, I’m sure you’re a nice person. But I’m gonna go.

He gets up and leaves without looking back.

Taylor is in shock. She doesn’t know what to do. She gets out her phone and opens the
Twitter application. She composes a tweet; “Just had the WORST date! Stay away from
Blake Owens, he is psycho and hit on this nasty waitress right in front of me!

The End

